Jimmy Saville 31 October 1926 – 29 October 2011

I was sad to hear that Sir Jimmy Saville had died. I got to work with him in the early 90s and must say I found him to be just as the obituaries are saying…. a wild eccentric. But he seemed to have time for everyone, and be able to relate to everyone in the building from the cleaners and security guards to the MD. We talked a little about this and that… and recorded a few links for his radio show on the station I was working at.

I am not sure about his personal and private life, but I did know that at that time I met someone warm friendly and giving.

He raised amazing sums for charity. But as a child I couldn’t understand why he didn’t “Fix It” for me. I remember writing the letter and being terrified about spelling mistakes that would get a blast from his bike bulb horn.

The world has lost an amazing entertainer and a true radio personality.

Read more here

Sir Jimmy

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One thought on “Jimmy Saville 31 October 1926 – 29 October 2011

  1. Wow. When I wrote this I had no idea what was going to come out about this man. I’m just sorry it didn’t come out before he escaped justice. I am so saddened that someone I held up as a role model (in some ways) turned out to be what he has turned out to be. I knew people who were uncomfortable in his presence…. but many of us had no idea what he was putting people through.My impressions of him remain as I wrote. The truth is much darker. To the victims I can only say I’m so sorry he wasn’t stopped.

Leave a Reply

